IBSS faculty elected EU Chamber Board Member

The China Shanghai Chapter of the European Union Chamber of Commerce elected Professor Roberto Dona as one of its board members on 11th May. Professor Dona is the Associate Dean of Professional Engagement for the International Business School Suzhou at Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University.

Serving as a model international business school in China, driving impact creation in the business community and the society it serves and close interaction and cooperation with the business industry have been critical pillars of IBSS’s operating model since its inception. IBSS has been an active member of many major chambers of commerce and collaborates with numerous Chinese multinational and domestic companies and firms.

Becoming a board member of the European Chamber of Commerce Shanghai Chapter has helped IBSS fulfill its core values while furthering recognition from the business community.

“It’s a surprise indeed. I’m the only candidate from educational circles and the result shows the impact that IBSS and XJTLU creating is being seen and recognized by more and more people and communities,” Professor Dona said. “I will take the advantage of the role to bridge academia and industry and create more opportunities for our students and faculty and practitioners from industry to collaborate in different levels.”

“This is another great news after IBSS being the youngest triple-accredited business school recently. It not only shows the positive outcome of interactions between the business community and IBSS but presents a good best practice example of how business education influences the real industrial world,” added Professor Jorg Bley, Dean of IBSS.

The European Union Chamber of Commerce in China was founded in 2000 by 51 member companies that shared a goal of establishing a common voice for business sectors of the European Union and European businesses operating in China. This member-driven, nonprofit organisation has a core structure of 26 working groups and eight  fora representing European business in China.

The European Chamber now has more than 1,700 members in seven chapters operating in nine cities: Beijing, Nanjing, Shanghai, Shenyang, South China (Guangzhou and Shenzhen), Southwest China (Chengdu, Chongqing) and Tianjin. The Chamber is recognised by the European Commission and the Chinese Authorities as the official voice of European business in China. It is recognised as a Foreign Chamber of Commerce with the Ministry of Commerce and China Council for the Promotion of International Trade.

Scroll to Top
Verified by MonsterInsights